Consecration in Armagh of Bishop of Connor

Bishop Davison of Connor (left) with the Archbishop of Armagh

The Venerable George Davison, formerly Archdeacon of Belfast and rector of Carrickfergus, was consecrated bishop in St Patrick’s Cathedral, Armagh on Thursday afternoon, September 3.

The consecrating bishops were the Archbishop of Armagh, the Most Rev John McDowell; the Bishop of Meath and Kildare, the Most Rev Pat Storey; and the Bishop of Derry and Raphoe; the Rt Rev Andrew Forster. The President of the Methodist Church Ireland, Rev Dr Thomas McKnight, also participated in the laying on of hands.

The preacher was the Rt Rev Kenneth Clarke, formerly Bishop of Kilmore, Elphin and Ardagh.

Bishop Davison was appointed by the Episcopal Electoral College for the Diocese of Connor on February 17. He succeeds the Rt Rev Alan Abernethy who retired in December 2019.

Bishop Davison is a former Honorary Secretary of the Church of Ireland’s General Synod. A native of south Belfast, the 55–year–old studied theology at St Andrew’s University, Scotland; Oak Hill College, London, and the Church of Ireland Theological College, Dublin.

He was made deacon in June 1992 at a service in St Patrick’s Cathedral, Armagh, and served a curacy in St Mark’s Parish, Portadown. In 1995 he was appointed rector of the Parish of Kinawley and Holy Trinity, Derrylin, Co Fermanagh, in the Diocese of Kilmore, where he remained until his institution as rector of Carrickfergus in June 2009. In Kilmore, he also served as Diocesan Director of Ordinands, and Archdeacon of Kilmore.

Bishop Davison is married to Nadine, and they have two grown up children. The bishop will be Enthroned in Christ Church Cathedral, Lisburn, and Installed in St Anne’s Cathedral, Belfast, on dates to be confirmed.